30 replies to this topic

#1 Carolyn

Carolyn

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 32 posts

Posted 05 May 2005 - 01:32 AM

Hello all

I am a very very novice to Estee Lauder solids - I have for years loved them but only just now starting to collect.

I have read some posts and have seen the term MIB - could someone help me with what that means please?

Also, do people collect solids in a theme - eg perfumes, or say fruit? animals? etc etc.

And is it best to keep them behind glass? I just love smelling them!

Unfortunately we dont get much to choose from new here in Australia, so have purchased some through ebay to get some range.

Last question (for now) there is no price for the 25th anniversary solid - was this a give away?

Thankyou heaps - love your site

#2 katita

katita

Katita

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 623 posts

Posted 05 May 2005 - 02:39 AM

Hello and welcome! MIB means Mint in Box. Some people collect themes, some people collect just the pieces they like, others try to collect all they can! It really depends on what you like and how much $ you have. laugh.gif

If you use Ebay, you might want to check out what people have written about it. Also, there is a "For Sale" section on this site. You may want to see what the members here are selling. I've had only good experiences buying on this site. Good luck with your collection.

Katita

#3 Petals

Petals

2000 Post Member

• Members
  • 2,904 posts

Posted 05 May 2005 - 02:54 AM

Hello Carolyn, As I am the early bird will reply to one or two of your questions.

The 25th Anniversary Solid was not a giveaway. It cost 81 in the U.K. This solid was released in limited number here but I cannot speak for the United States.

MIB stands for Mint In Box. MIB Both Boxes, includes the outer white box which is a good item to have but the main one is the gold box.

Everyone collects the compacts and solids in their own way. Some in themes, some not. I keep most of mine in display cases, some open.