4 replies to this topic

#1 StormHound

StormHound

• Members
  • Pip
  • 3 posts

Posted 16 December 2002 - 12:09 AM

Hi everyone!

I'm a complete newbie - just discovered the world of Estee Lauder compacts today. I think I really want to start collecting these, but would like some advice before I start spending my hard-earned pennies!

I was hoping some members would share their advice, stories and tips - where to start, why they're collecting, etc.

Any help would be very much appreciated!
Steph

#2 favoritegram

favoritegram

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 150 posts

Posted 15 December 2002 - 01:42 PM

Hi, best advice I can give is only buy what you fall in love with. Don't buy with the idea in mind of investing and making money, that way you won't be disappointed. Also check what the solids are selling for on Ebay and don't overpay. Lainey

#3 greyhound

greyhound

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 463 posts

Posted 15 December 2002 - 07:48 PM

I agree. Buy what you like. Avoid buying a solid you don't care about just because it's cheap. It's best to narrow your choices so you won't get overwelmed such as---new or vintage---theme and/or type---price range. I originally started collecting because I wanted the fruit and food related solids. I'm still looking for more fruit, but at the same time, I collect animals and other types--usually buying the new ones. I recently started buying the older ones at the lowest possible price (if possible).

Buy Gerson's book: "The Estee Lauder Solid Perfume Compact Collection 1967-2001", so you can see the solids and their value. This is a great resource tool.

Once you decide what solids to buy, check out the solid values page on this website. Type in a solid name such as "affectionate fish" and see how much bidders on ebay paid. You can see how much or little someone paid. I always avoid paying the max, although I sometimes overpay by $25-40.