#1 luscious11@aol.com

luscious11@aol.com

Pamela

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 176 posts

Posted 21 November 2002 - 12:20 AM

Hi there:

Just wanted to ask a question out there to anyone who is interested in answering. I am new to SELLING I have several compacts on line for sale at this time. Is it normal and acceptable for someone to use your pictures from your item you are selling to sell their item which happens (possibly) to be similar or the same?? It's obvious it is my pics because my it is my grandmother's cotton tablecloth the compact is sitting on!! Check it out for yourself - someone please let me know if that is acceptable?? redkitty1 has an estee lauder gold-lemon drop compact on line for sale; it just started recently. Mine was on line and did not sell so I relisted it last night. Mine is highlghted ESTEE LAUDER LEMON DROP COMPACT - GEORGOUS!
I WILL WAIT FOR SOMEONE TO REPLY!!!THANKS FOR YOUR TIME. (my item is listed under luscious52)

Regards, Pamela

#2 Lisa

Lisa

2000 Post Member

• Admin
  • 2,990 posts

Posted 21 November 2002 - 01:47 PM

Pamela,

No, it is not acceptable to use someones else's photo without permission. A photograph that you take of an item that belongs to you is a copyrighted photo owned by you.
I had this happen to me a little while back and wrote the seller to remove the photo immediately and the seller refused to remove it so I had to report the seller to ebay.

Here is the link to ebay to report the seller:
http://pages.ebay.co.../select-RS.html
Click on: questionable content on ebay, then
potentially infringing issues and then
use of images or links without permission

Ebay will send you a form to fill out stating that you own the image and then you fax back to them, the sellers auction will then be removed.

What you don't want is someone seeing the sellers photo and then your auction with the same photo and thinking something is "fishy" and losing bids on yours.

[ November 21, 2002, 01:48 PM: Message edited by: Lisa ]